No (More) Spend February

I admit it, I’ve outdone myself lately. I have shopped like a champion over the last few weeks. My tendency to impulse-shop gets out of hand sometimes, and my self-control has been particularly lacking over the last two weeks. Planner supplies + impulse buying = increasingly empty bank account.

Don’t get me wrong: I always look forward to gorgeous new accessories, but when I start to get that guilty, squirmy feeling when I think about how much money I’ve spent lately, I know I’ve gone too far. It seems like I’m perpetually torn in two mindsets: on one hand, yay new planner supplies! Planner supplies are awesome, and these are so amazingly cute that I can’t imagine not having them! But on the other hand…. Ouchh.. my poor budget.. 

But I realize that I’ve overstepped my own boundaries lately, and a line needs to be drawn. Being responsible with my spending and avoiding the lure of impulse-buying is something that I’ve struggled with for too many years to count. My brain usually follows the line of see it — want it — buy it– but I can’t pretend that this isn’t a terrible habit (even if an occasionally satisfying one.)

I want to approach my finances from a more balanced place. I’ve made progress in that I’m not sacrificing my bill payments for the sake of shopping, but I still have to acknowledge that I’m spending to an unhealthy degree.

So from today throughout the rest of the month, I’m going to do a No Spend challenge for the first time, and I’ll be using my blog and reddit to help keep myself accountable. For the rest of February, the only money that I will spend will be money that has been budgeted for bills, doctor appointments, and a small amount set aside for essentials like gas and weekly groceries. The things that I am cutting out of my budget for my No Spend February:

  • ALL shopping (planner supplies, clothes, any non-essentials; online & in-store)
  • Restaurants & Fast Food
  • Starbucks / coffee shops
  • Manicures & Salon appointments

It’s going to be difficult to resist my urge to impulse-buy, at least a first. I’m hoping that as time goes on, I’ll learn how to react to the trigger of ooh, cute thing, must have! in a not so self-destructive way.

I’ll be checking in here & on r/getdisciplined every few days to give updates on how well (hopefully) I’m doing with this challenge.

Wish me luck!

Signature

Leave a Comment

