Reading List: January & February

2016 Reading Challenge

Since 2012, I’ve done the Goodreads Reading Challenge every year. This year I’m aiming for my personal highest goal of 100 books read in one year– I came close in 2015 with 78 books read, but I still missed the mark. I’m well on my way this year, with thirteen books read in January, and another eighteen books planned for February. I’m trying a new strategy this year by planning each month’s book list in advance– and I’ve actually had more success so far than I’d imagined.

Books Read in January

  1. The Queen of the Tearling, by Erika Johansen
  2. How to Stay Sane, by Philippa Perry
  3. The Invasion of the Tearling, by Erika Johansen
  4. The Happiness Project, by Gretchen Rubin // {reread}
  5. Big Magic: Creative Living Beyond Fear, by Elizabeth Gilbert
  6. Cruel Beauty, by Rosamund Hodge
  7. Crimson Bound, by Rosamund Hodge
  8. The Fairy Tales of Charles Perrault, ed. by Angela Carter
  9. Shadowhunters & Downworlders, by Cassandra Clare
  10. Red Queen, by Victoria Aveyard
  11. Throne of Glass, by Sarah J. Maas
  12. Six of Crows, by Leigh Bardugo
  13. Shadow and Bones, by Leigh Bardugo
  14. Brave New World, by Aldous Huxley // {read 116 pages; DNF}

My favorite books from January were The Queen of the Tearling and Six of Crows— they were both incredible books, and I loved the characters and world-building in both. Obviously, I didn’t finish reading Brave New World, and it definitely takes the prize for my least favorite book of the month; I love dystopian classics like 1984 and Fahrenheit 451, and I was expecting to be blown away, and I was surprised by how completely underwhelmed I felt by the writing and story.

For February, I’m mostly catching up with the backstory of The Mortal Instruments, and then rereading the series to prepare for the release of Cassandra Clare’s new book, Lady Midnight, in March (I am fangirl-level crazy over Cassandra Clare, and I seriously cannot wait for The Dark Artifices trilogy!)

Books to Read in February

  1. Fahrenheit 451, by Ray Bradbury
  2. The Walking Dead, Vol. 17, by Robert Kirkman // {somehow I skipped 17 & 18}
  3. The Walking Dead, Vol. 18, by Robert Kirkman
  4. The Walking Dead, Vol. 24, by Robert Kirkman
  5. Welcome to the Shadowhunter Academy, by Cassandra Clare
  6. The Lost Herondale, by Cassandra Clare
  7. The Whitechapel Fiend, by Cassandra Clare
  8. Nothing But Shadows, by Cassandra Clare
  9. The Evil We Love, by Cassandra Clare
  10. Pale Kings and Princes, by Cassandra Clare
  11. Bitter of Tongue, by Cassandra Clare
  12. The Fiery Trial, by Cassandra Clare
  13. Born to Endless Night, by Cassandra Clare
  14. Angels Twice Descending, by Cassandra Clare
  15. City of Bones, by Cassandra Clare // {reread}
  16. City of Ashes, by Cassandra Clare // {reread}
  17. City of Glass, by Cassandra Clare // {reread}
  18. City of Fallen Angels, by Cassandra Clare // {reread}

I’m pretty excited to be so close to the release of Lady Midnight— I’ve been looking forward to it for over a year now. Although I’m pretty sure I’m going to have reached reached my limit for YA lit by the time I finish reading The Mortal Instruments and Lady Midnight in March– I’ll need to plan on reading a few classics or non-fiction books to give my brain a break from swimming in teenage angst.

Are you doing the Goodreads Reading Challenge this year? Share a link to your Goodreads profile or book list below in the comments or on Twitter (@merricataddams). ❤️

Signature

P.S. You can also find my reading challenge list on my blog– see the menu bar above!

Leave a Comment

