Grace, Not Perfection: Accepting Flaws in DIY

I’m a recovering perfectionist. For the longest time, the only way that I could work on any kind of creative project or craft was if I was satisfied that it was absolutely flawless– which meant that I didn’t do a whole lot of crafting. I let my fear of imperfections get in the way of my love for DIY and crafts, but lately I’ve begun to try to see things in a different light.

I will hold myself to the standard of grace, not perfection. That quote has resonated with me since I first heard it, and it reminds me that in the end, perfect isn’t what matters. When I’m working on a craft or one of my planners and I make a mistake– once upon a time not-so-long-ago that would have been the cue to trash the entire page or project and start over (or not, in most cases)— but now I’m trying to see the flaws as something fixable, or barring that, I just tell myself that a mistake isn’t the end of the world and that I’m allowed to move forward. I’m trying to teach myself that less-than-perfect is still good enough when it comes to my planner and my crafts.

DIY Dividers

Today I made a set of planner dividers in preparation for my new Kate Spade Wellesley, and it was a perfect (ahem) test of my new-found resolution to accept imperfections.

DIY Dividers 2

My dividers turned out beautifully, but that little voice in my head is still nagging at me that my cursive is ugly, and that I should have just written in print. It’s always the littlest things. But– I’ve decided that my dividers are good enough, and even if the script isn’t the most gorgeous, oh well— that’s okay.

I run into that nagging, overly-critical voice in a lot of places– when I’m decorating my planner, when I’m taking photos for my blog, when I’m making DIY accessories or other crafty projects, and even when I’m writing my actual posts. I’m still learning how to shut down the unnecessary mental criticism and walk away from it, but it’s finally beginning to get easier.

Are you a perfectionist when it comes to crafting and planning? How have you learned to deal with it?  

Signature

4 thoughts on “Grace, Not Perfection: Accepting Flaws in DIY

  1. createpraylove says:

    Oh, I love this post! I’m also a recovering perfectionist, and while I’ve gotten better, I’m trying to be even more intentional about not spending too much time on one project or even just one part of a project. I easily spend too many hours trying to make a home decor project look perfectly imperfect. I’m also really good at wasting time comparing fonts for digital projects when the first three I looked at could have definitely done the job! Anyway, I love the quote you shared about a standard of grace & will definitely be writing that one down for reference! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Rachel Katherine says:

    Thank you!! It can definitely be hard to work around that critical voice in your head, can’t it? The most important thing that I’ve found is to not compare my progress to other peoples’ work, but only to where I was a week, a month, a year ago. All that matters is improvement, not perfection. 😊

    Like

  3. Ivy says:

    This post perfectly describes me! I wish I could say I am a recovering perfectionist, but I am still just a perfectionist. I love the quote that you used, I’ll definitely be writing it down! I still throw away a piece of paper if I made a mistake on it :/ but hopefully if I remind myself of grace and not perfection, I’ll be able to change that. I think your dividers look awesome! I normally don’t mix patterns, but you did such a great job! I can’t wait to see how your blog grows!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

